Garage Band

I am currently working on a theatre work called Garage Band that incorporates these approaches, using a three-piece band as the protagonists who cover songs and play their own material to weave the narrative of the work in a basement garage constructed by a DIY kit of scenographic objects. I have been developing the work since performing House at Aberystwyth Arts Centre and I will be composing the text along with original material over the summer. I hope to work with the Garage Band from House again on this material as I prepare the piece as the final practice based outcome of my PhD. I have been reading and watching a lot of Richard Maxwell’s plays as well as listening to a lot of Minute Men, Fugazi and the Get-up Kids.

Leave a Reply

